Skip to main content

Research and Innovation Showcase 2020

Advancing A Culture of Research Excellence

In an effort to keep our communities safe and in following university coronavirus (COVID-19) protocols, the Research and Innovation Showcase 2020, originally scheduled for April 8, was canceled. However uncertain or unusual the next several months would be, one thing remained – our innovative spirit. New ideas and creativity to solve the world’s most pressing problems continued to launch and evolve in those unprecedented times.

Though physically distanced, the Office of Research and Corporate Engagement Office moved forward to celebrate the research and innovation of our Buckeye community. In July, we shared some of the most dynamic features of the showcase virtually through our Spotlight Speaker series. In October, we recognized our innovator finalists and awarded the 2020 Next Generation InnovatorEarly Career Innovator and Innovator of the Year.



Spotlight Speakers

Department of Marketing and Logistics
Associate Professor

Selin Malkoc

Selin Malkoc
Department of Medical Oncology
Research Assistant Professor

Daniel Spakowicz

Daniel Spakowicz
Environmental Policy and Decision-Making

Callia Tellez

Callia Tellez

2020 Innovators of the Year

Innovator of the Year

Alper Yilmaz, PhD

Department of Civil Environmental and Geodetic Engineering

Early Career Innovator of the Year

Arnab Nandi, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Next Generation Innovator of the Year

Devin Swiner

PhD Candidate

Innovator of the Year Finalists

Pravin T. P. Kaumaya, PhD, Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Daniel Gauthier, PhD, Professor, Department of Physics, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Early Career Innovator of the Year Finalists

Abraham Badu-Tawiah, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Shahid Nimjee, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of neurological surgery

Next Generation Innovator of the Year Finalists

Pengfei Jiang, Graduate student, Department of Chemical Engineering

Andrej Simeunovic, MS, PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering