Skip to main content

Research and Innovation Showcase 2019

Advancing A Culture of Research Excellence

On April 24, 2019, over 150 attendees gathered to celebrate research and creative inquiry. We honored our most innovative researchers, recognized key milestones reached in commercialization and engaged in meaningful conversations after inspiring spotlight talks.

Watch the videos below to be inspired all over again, see what others are saying and help us continue advancing a culture of research excellence across Ohio State and beyond.




Research and Creative Inquiry Spotlight Talks

Department of Dance
Associate Professor

Harmony Bench, PhD

Harmony Bench is an Associate Professor in the Department of Dance. Her research centers on encounters between bodies and machine or media technologies. She particularly focuses on how human bodies and technological devices are imagined in relation to each other, and how technologies facilitate the circulation and transmission of movements, gestures and even bodily schema. 

Harmony Bench standing in front of a brick wall
Department of Astronomy
Professor and Vice Chair

B. Scott Gaudi, PhD

B. Scott Gaudi is the Thomas Jefferson Professor for Discovery and Space Exploration, and Professor and Vice Chair of The Ohio State University Department of Astronomy. His research focuses on the search for and characterization of planets orbiting other stars (exoplanets). He has been involved with the discovery of roughly 50 exoplanets.

Scott Gaudi
Department of Neurological Surgery
Associate Professor

Shahid Nimjee, MD, PhD

Shahid Nimjee is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neurological Surgery with appointments in the Departments of Radiology and Neuroscience, and at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. His research focuses on exploiting the properties of RNA biology to better diagnose and treat thromboembolic disease as it pertains to cerebrovascular neurosurgery.

Shahid Nimjee
Department of Geography
Graduate Student

Forrest Schoessow

Forrest Schoessow is pursuing a doctorate in geography at The Ohio State University and directs the Mountain Drone Team at the Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center. His research focus is on advancing scientific understanding of glaciers as water resources and hazards in a rapidly changing world through the development of custom sensors and unmanned aerial systems.

Forrest Schoessow
Department of Microbiology

Matthew Sullivan, PhD

Matthew Sullivan is a Professor in the Department of Microbiology and in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering. He has pioneered viral ecogenomics as a means to study viruses in complex communities.

Matthew Sullivan
Astronomy Accessibility Program Coordinator
'18 BS in Science Communication and Accessibility

Anna Voelker

Anna Voelker received her BS in science communication and accessibility from Ohio State in 2018. She is currently the Coordinator of Ohio State’s Astronomy Accessibility Program and Chair of the Astronomers Without Borders Accessibility and Inclusion Working Group. She is the Director of SciAccess, a conference dedicated to promoting disability inclusion and diversity in STEAM.

Anna Voelker

2018 Innovators of the Year

Innovator of the Year

Katrina Cornish, PhD

Ohio Research Scholar/Endowed Chair, Bioemergent Materials
Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Early Career Innovator of the Year

Tim Raderstorf, MSN, RN

Chief Innovation Officer
College of Nursing

Next Generation Innovator of the Year

Forrest Schoessow

Graduate Student
Department of Geography
College of Arts And Sciences

Next Generation Innovator of the Year

Wesley Thio

Graduate Student
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan

Innovator Finalist

Sankar Renu, PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher, Food Animal Health Research Program, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Karen Dannemiller, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering, College of Engineering

Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering

C. Emre Koksal, PhD, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

Susan Mallery, DDS, PhD, Professor and Chair, Division of Oral Maxillofacial Pathology and Radiology, College of Dentistry

Yi Zhao, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering