Skip to main content

Research Security Governance Board

Building on Ohio State Campus

The federal government continues to express concerns regarding the lack of appropriate security controls relating to universities’ research activities. This is leading to additional security-related regulatory requirements from federal funding agencies, as well as increased scrutiny from federal law enforcement agencies. While Ohio State values open, competitive research, in recognition of the government’s concerns and to ensure we are constantly evaluating our internal efforts, the Office of Research and the Office of University Compliance and Integrity have established the Research Security Governance Board.

This board is assessing the university’s current research security posture and will develop and implement improvement plans to physical and information security controls. It is also evaluating Ohio State’s procedures related to foreign affiliations, foreign business agreements, and global engagements and is developing an approval process for efficiently and equitably vetting international opportunities. The board has convened a number of workgroups to help in this important work. If you have an interest in participating or learning more about a workgroup, please contact a workgroup chair directly.

Please continue to check this site for progress updates on the board and its workgroups’ activities.


Research Security Governance

Board Members

Peter Mohler
Co-Chair, Interim Vice President for Research

Gates Garrity-Rokous
Co-Chair, Vice President and Chief Compliance Officer, Office of University Compliance and Integrity

Matt Albers
Deputy General Counsel and Senior Associate VP Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Michael Eicher
Senior Vice President for Advancement

Cindy Leavitt
Interim Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Chris Jaroniec
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Creative Inquiry

Jay Kasey
Senior Vice President for Administration and Planning

Cathann Kress
Vice President and Dean, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Gil Latz
Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs

Monica Moll
Director, Department of Public Safety

Scott Osborne
Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development

Kevin Patton
Director, Internal Audit

Tom Ramey
Senior Director, Employee and Labor Relations, Office of Human Resources

Stacy Rastauskas
Vice President for Government Affairs

Andre Palmer
Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering

Aylin Yener
Professor, College of Engineering (RSGB Core Faculty Group)

Andre Palmer
Associate Dean for Research

Aylin Yener
Professor, College of Engineering (RSGB Core Faculty Group)

Spring day on the Oval with library in the background


Administration and Oversight

The Administration and Oversight will conduct a baseline assessment of additional security measures (both physical and information) that Ohio State has agreed to with sponsors. This group will also define a process for future review and approvals for any non-standard requirements.

Chair: Jim Giuliani
Director, Office of Secure Research

Culture and Change Management

Identifying strategies for clear communications and messaging this initiative. Need to make sure people are prepared for changes coming out of this governance board activities. Take the pulse of the university, help with responses, define what our values are related to international collaboration and engagement.

Chair: Scott Osborne
Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development

Information Security and Data Sharing

The Information Security workgroup will document the current state of information security management for highest-risk research, identify gaps in compliance requirements, and create recommendations for improvements. Areas of focus are: standards and processes; technology strategies for restricted research services; governance and oversight processes; security training and awareness; and research data inventories.

Chair: Rich Nagle
Chief Information Security Officer

International Engagements and Business Partnerships

The International Engagements and Business Partnerships workgroup is charged with identifying varying international agreement types; identifying inconsistencies in international agreement notification and approval processes; and recommending consistent processes to overcome the identified inconsistencies. This group will also ensure continuity with the Office of Advancement relating to international gifts to the university.

Chair: Padmini Roy-Dixon
Executive Director Global Gateways & Partnerships

International Travel

The International Travel workgroup is charged with establishing processes to ensure that individuals traveling to certain locations or that may have sensitive research receive travel briefings including physical and informational security, and are knowledgeable about how to secure information.

Chair: Jim Giuliani (interim)
Director, Office of Secure Research

Licensing University Intellectual Property

The Licensing University Intellectual Property workgroup is charged with establishing processes for reviewing and approving licensing of or transferring Ohio State intellectual property to external foreign parties.

Chair: Don Taylor
Executive Director, Licensing

Physical Security

The Physical Security workgroup is charged with defining a baseline for all research sites, including sensitive research sites requiring a range of additional security measures.

Chair: Mark Conselyea
Associate Vice President for Facilities Operations and Development

Regulatory and Legislative Affairs

The Regulatory and Legislative Affairs workgroup is charged with reviewing new and pending legislation and regulations related to research security and provides feedback to the RSGB on the potential impact to Ohio State’s research activities.

Co-Chair: Stan Skocki
Associate VP for Government Affairs – Federal Relations

Visitors to Campus

The Visitors to Campus workgroup is charged with establishing a uniform process for internal notification, processing and approval for visiting scholars, high-level international visitors or delegations, including foreign governmental representatives. This group will work to identify the controls necessary to ensure appropriate security protocols are in place.

Chair: Maureen Miller
Director of Communications, Office of International Affairs