Skip to main content

Six faculty receive 2021 Distinguished Scholar Awards

Six Ohio State faculty members have been named 2021 Distinguished Scholars in recognition of their exceptional scholarly accomplishments and substantial body of research.

2021 Distinguished Scholars

Recipients are nominated by their departments and chosen by a committee of senior faculty, including past award recipients. Distinguished Scholars receive an honorarium and a research grant to be used over the next three years. The award is supported by the Office of Research.

Recipients were recognized individually during a surprise virtual ceremony attended by department chair, college leadership and their colleagues. Provost Bruce McPheron emceed the ceremonies, which were attended by Grace Wang, Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and Knowledge and senior leadership from the Enterprise.

The 2021 honorees are:

  • Douglas Berman, Newton D. Baker-Baker and Hostetler Chair in Law, Moritz College of Law
  • Christopher Hirata, Professor, Department of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences, Division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
  • Kendra McSweeney, Professor, Department of Geography, College of Arts and Sciences, Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Dorothy Noyes, Professor, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences, Division of Division of Arts and Humanities
  • Abhay Satoskar, Professor, Department of Pathology, College of Medicine
  • Linda Weavers, Professor and John C. Geupel Endowed Chair, Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering, College of Engineering

Read about previous Winners